Wednesday, 9-6-2017

  • 09:00 am - 10:30 am: Open Meeting Block F & Invited Session
  • 09:00 am - 10:30 am: Invited Session (Kleiner Festsaal)
  • 10:30 am - 11:00 am: Coffee break (Arkadenhof & Großer Festsaal)
  • 11:00 am - 12:15 am: Panel RatSWD (Kleiner Festsaal)
  • 11:00 am - 12:30 am: Parallel Sessions-Open Meeting Block G
  • 11:00 am - 12:30 am: Poster Session (Senatssaal)
  • 11:30 am - 12:30 pm: Lecture by Ernst Fehr: Faszination Wirtschaftswissenschaften (Audimax)
  • 12:15 pm - 01:15 pm: Women's Network Meeting (SR Geschichte 1)
  • 12:30 pm - 01:15 pm: Lunch break (Arkadenhof & Großer Festsaal)
  • 01:15 pm - 02:15 pm: Keynote IV: Albrecht Ritschl: "Notgeld, Zigaretten, Bitcoins: Vom Aufstieg und Niedergang alternativer Währungen"(Audimax)
  • 01:15 pm - 02:00 pm: Parallel workshops: Faszination Wirtschaftswissenschaften
  • 02:15 pm - 02:25 pm: Coffee break (Arkadenhof & Großer Festsaal)
  • 02:25 pm - 03:40 pm: Panel ARGE (Audimax)
  • 03:40 pm - 04:00 pm: Closing speech (Audimax)

For more details please refer to the online conference schedule.

Panel ARGE

Panel discussion of ARGE-Institutes: Europe in the 21st century - What future is expected for the Eurozone?

After the presidential election in France and shortly before the Bundestag election in Germany, the panel discussion will evaluate the facts: The EU is under pressure to implement future-oriented reforms due to the rise of renationalisation within the European economic policies. The focus of these steps should be ensuring the long-term survival of the Euro. What are the needed reforms? Which steps should economic policies take to reform the Eurozone and the EU? Which policy measures are the top priority to achieve these high ambitions? What can Germany contribute? And what can the EZB do?

Discussion participants:

  • Marcel Fratzscher, Präsident des Deutschen Instituts für Wirtschaftsforschung (Host)
  • Lars Feld, Direktor des Walter Eucken Institut, Freiburg
  • Clemens Fuest, Präsident des ifo-Institut – Leibniz Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung an der Universität München
  • Reint E. Gropp, Präsident des Leibniz-Instituts für Wirtschaftsforschung Halle
  • Christoph M. Schmidt, Präsident des RWI - Leibniz-Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung
  • Dennis Snower, Präsident des Institut für Weltwirtschaft an der Universität Kiel